In Florida, the private security industry is regulated by the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. Depending on the security service an individual or business intends to offer, there exist a variety of license requirements, each with their own specific criteria.
What are the Different Security Licenses in Florida?
Any individual that seeks to perform security services in Florida must obtain a Class “D” Security Officer license. A Class “D” license allows an individual to perform non-armed security services throughout Florida. The licensee must own or be employed by a certified and licensed security agency. Importantly, Class “D” licensees may not personally enter into subcontractor agreements with any licensed agency or other business entity. Also, if a Class “D” licensee seeks to carry a firearm while on duty, they must obtain a Class “G” Statewide Firearm license.
In Florida, any entity which is engaged in the business of providing security services must have a Class “B” Security Agency license. With a Class “B” license, an agency may enter into subcontractor agreements with other licensed agencies. Any person that manages a Class “B” agency must obtain a Class “M” Agency Manager license. However, if a Class “D” licensee has been licensed for over two years, that person may be designated as the manager without the need to obtain a Class “M” license.
What are the Training Requirements for a Private Security Officer?
An applicant for a Class “D” license must submit proof of successful completion of a minimum 40 hours of professional training at a school or training facility licensed by the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. Once an applicant has completed the required training, they are awarded a security certificate.
How Do I Apply for a License?
Once an individual has obtained the security certificate from a licensed institution, they may apply for a security officer license. In accordance with the Security Officer Handbook issued by the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, an individual applying for a license must meet the following criteria: (1) be at least eighteen years of age; (2) have no disqualifying criminal history; (3) be of good moral character; and (4) have no history of mental illness or history of use of illegal drugs or alcoholism. The applicant must also provide various documents, including, but not limited to: (1) their name, date of birth, and social security number; (2) a full set of fingerprints; and (3) a personal injury waiver. Any non-U.S. citizen applying for a license must provide proof of current employment authorization.
When Does a Security Officer License Expire?
In Florida, a Class “D” Security Officer license is valid for two years. Class “B” Security Agency and Class “K” Firearms Instructor licenses are valid for three years. Although a renewal notice is sent to the licensee at least 90 days prior to the expiration date, it is nevertheless the responsibility of the licensee to apply for a renewal 60-90 days prior to expiration.
EPGD Business Law is located in beautiful Coral Gables, West Palm Beach and historic Washington D.C. Call us at (786) 837-6787, or contact us through the website to schedule a consultation.